Cette page n'est pas disponible en français. Veuillez-nous en excuser.

ITIL® Foundation (with exam)

This ITIL (*) 4 training is a 3-day, instructor-led, entry-level course for teams who need an insight into the key elements, concepts and terminology used in the ITIL framework.

Attendees also grasp the linkages between stages, processes and functions used and their contribution to modern IT service management (ITSM) practices.

  • Why take ITIL 4 Foundation?

Teams can expect to gain a general overview and understanding of ITIL. Key topics include:

  • reasons why an organization should follow ITIL best practices;
  • the organizational impact of a best practice implementation;
  • ITIL terminology and definitions;
  • adopting and adapting ITIL® principles;
  • the benefits and pitfalls of a best practice implementation;
  • ITIL success stories.

The ITIL Foundation certificate fulfills the prerequisities for moving up to the next level certificates.

(*) ITIL® is a registered trademark of OGC (Office of Government and Commerce).


Il n'y a pas de sessions publiques à ce moment. Nous organisons volontiers un cours en entreprise ou une session publique supplémentaire (en cas d'un nombre suffisant de participants). Intéressé? Veuillez contacter ABIS.

Intended for

This ITIL certification is open to anyone who has an interest in the subject. It is primarily aimed towards attendees who:

  • require a basic understanding of the ITIL Framework;
  • need an understanding of how ITIL can be used to enhance the quality of ITSM within a team;
  • work within a team that has adopted and adapted ITIL and need to be informed about, or contribute to, an ongoing service improvement program.


There are no mandatory prerequisities for this ITIL training although experience in IT or related fields is beneficial to get the most out of the training.

Main topics

  • Introduction
  • the role of IT Service Management as a key strategic capability within organisations hoping to stay relevant in the face of rapid advancements in technology
  • the structure and purpose of the new framework, ITIL® 4, which provide guidance around two key components: Service Value System and the Four Dimensions Model
  • introduction to the service lifecycle concept of service management
  • an outline of the Service Value Chain, ITIL® Practices and Principles, and the elements of the Four Dimensions Model
  • Key Concepts of Service Management

The objectives and business value for each phase of the service lifecycle covered in the 5 core books:

  • Service Strategy
  • Service Design
  • Service Transition
  • Service Operation
  • Continual Service Improvement
  • The Four Dimensions of Service Management
  • an introduction to one of the central focuses of ITIL® 4, the Four Dimensions Model, and how its elements must collaborate to provide different perspectives to the Service Value Chain
  • detailed outlines of the four dimensions: Organisations and People, Information and Technology, Partners and Suppliers, and Value Streams and Processes. This includes the role they play in IT Service Management, their main principles and examples in relation to the ITIL® framework, and factors to consider within organisationsl
  • The ITIL® Service Value System
  • an introduction to the second central focus of ITIL® 4, Service Value System, including its purpose and relevant inputs and outputs
  • the relationship between the five components of the SVS model and how they interact to provide a clear framework that ensures the effective functioning of Service Management
  • a description of 'silos' and how the SVS is best used to discourage them and manage change more effectively
  • The ITIL® Guiding Principles
  • the seven core principles that determine how ITIL® operates
  • an explanation of how organisations must follow these principles when choosing to adopt a new ITSM framework, fully understanding the message and value, and communicating this with their stakeholders
  • The Service Value Chain
  • an operating model for service creation, delivery, and continual improvement
  • the six activities that form the Service Value Chain are intended to help the creation of products and services focused on value
  • General Management Practices
  • management practices are organisational resources designed to accomplish specific objectives
  • an overview of the four categories of organisational resources
  • effective use of management practices will ensure businesses can put their service on the market quickly and efficiently
  • Service Management Principles
  • an overview of the various Service Management Practices designed to improve the implementation of ITIL® 4
  • detailed outlines of Availability Management, Business Analysis, Change Control, and Release Management
  • the stages of Service Level Management, including defining, recording, and managing service levels
  • Technical Management Principles
  • deployment Management is a key type of Technical Management and is designed to transfer new or changed software, hardware, processes, and documentation
  • infrastructure and Platform Management enables the further monitoring of technology solutions
  • software Development and Management ensures that applications meet internal and external stakeholder needs

Training method

This intensive, interactive workshop consists of formal lecturing, discussions, assignments, presentations and test examination questions.

To obtain the ITIL Foundation certificate, attendees must pass a 40-question, 60-minute, multiple-choice exam. The passing score is 65% or 26 out of 40 questions must be correct. The exam is included in the course fee.


3 days.

Course leader

SMME (accredited training company).

Aussi intéressant

Participants de ce cours ont aussi suivi les formations suivantes: